Cello Recital by Jonathan Aasgaard

 Type:Culture, Concert
 Location:England, Liverpool

The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra's principal cellist Jonathan Aasgaard marks the centenary celebrations of Norwegian Independence by performing music by two of Norway's best-loved composers, Svensen and Grieg and one of its brightest living composers, Henrik Skram.

A new piece by Liverpool composer Tom Moss marks the strong historical trade and passenger sea links between Norway and Liverpool in a modern day cultural exchange.  More than just a piece of history, this has a personal resonance for Jonathan,  whose great-grandfather was a sea captain who sailed regularly between Norway, Liverpool and the USA.

Johan Svensen, 'Romance'
Henrik Skram, 'Solohouse'
Tommy Moss, new work
Edvard Grieg, 'Sonata in A minor'

Liverpool Philarmonic Hall
Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9BP

Thursday 20 October, 1-2pm
Tickets £6 - book now.



Send this article to a friend
Print version

Jonathan Aasgaard