Seierstad wins Emma award

Norwegian journalist Åsne Seierstad has won the coveted cross-cultural Emma award with her book "The Bookseller of Kabul", currently a best-seller in Great Britain. Former prize-winners include Vikram Seth, Zadie Smith, Lord Richard Attenborough, Muhammad Ali and 'Ali G', Aftenposten reports

25/05/2004 ::  

The Emma award goes to different media figures who have promoted understanding and consciousness across cultures.

Last year's Emma went to controversial US writer and filmmaker Michael Moore and this year's contenders included novelist Monica Ali and her acclaimed "Brick Lane".

A jury nominates candidates based on contributions from 20,000 people in the media industry and the final award is based on votes by the public.

Send this article to a friend
Print version

Norwegian journalist Asne Seierstad