Rediscovering Knut Hamsun...

Three classic works of Nobel Prize-winning Norwegian author Knut Hamsun have been re-released in the UK.

Knut Hamsun was the most influential writer of the late nineteenth century, creating a new literary style and a new literary type, the alienated outsider (typified in ‘Mysteries’), which became defining elements of modernism. In ‘Growth of the Soil’ he created a novel of Biblical power, while ‘Dreamers’ shows the gentler comic side of his imagination. Hamsun was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1920 and died in 1952 at the age of 92.

New editions of the following works, published by Souvenir Press, are now on sale:

Ove Rolandsen, the telegraph operator in an isolated fishing village in northern Norway, is a cheerful rogue fond of girls and alcohol. He constantly hatches ambitious schemes to the despair of his fiancée, Marie, housekeeper at the vicarage. A plan to manufacture glue from fish-waste lands him in trouble, is his feckless career over or could fortune, for once, be on his side?

Growth of the Soil
A classic of European literature, one of the seminal novels of the twentieth century. It is the story of Isak, a worker of the land, with its roots in man’s deepest myths about the struggle to cultivate the land and make it fertile. The novel moves at the pace of the passing seasons, and with the growth of the crops, on which the characters’ lives depend.

Johan Nagel, a strange young man, arrives to spend a summer in a small Norwegian coastal town. His presence acts as a catalyst for the hidden impulses, concealed thoughts and darker instincts of the local people. Cursed with the ability to understand the human soul, especially his own, Nagel can foresee, but cannot prevent, his own self-destruction.

Send this article to a friend  
Print version

Knut Hamsun's novels 'Dreamers', 'Growth of the Soil' and 'Mysteries' have been published in new editions in the UKPhoto: Souvenir Press

Norway - the official site in the UK / Contact the Embassy / Contact information
© 2003/2007